April 11, 2017

Find a Mentor!

Finding the right mentor can be a challenge, but we're here to help!

When contacting a potential mentor or department representative, keep the following in mind:

Be professional
  • Make an appointment ahead of time by sending an email to the professor that is professional and respectful.
  • Keep your appointment! If a professor is going to mentor you, or recommend you to a colleague, you will need to demonstrate reliability.  

Be prepared
  • Come to the meeting knowing about the professor - find out their research interest and ideas.

Be interested
  • If you are interested in getting involved in the research or scholarly work in the department, ask about how they recommend you get involved.
  • Check out department webpages for undergraduate research links.
  • If you are interested in the professor's research, ask, rather than demand, if there are opportunities for you to work with her or him.

Be flexible
  • Don't be disappointed if the professor refers you to someone else. He or she may be looking for a different set of skills or otherwise unavailable. Thank them for the referral, and follow up! She or he will probably have told their colleague to look for you.
  • Don't expect to be immediately in charge of an entire project. Most of the time, you will begin by supporting a project or doing initial background research. This lets you learn about the research or creative project, and gives you a chance to demonstrate your knowledge, skills, responsibility, and reliability.
  • Some faculty post opportunities on HireMason: search Position Type for "Undergraduate Research project."

Be rewarded

There are several ways to be rewarded for your work on the project:

  • Volunteer: this gives the opportunity to prove yourself, a line on your resume, and usually leads to one of the other options.
  • Credit: ask about independent scholarly activities research credit, including the option of enrolling in OSCAR UNIV391 (for beginning work on a project) and UNIV491 (RS credit for a project). Both have 0 credit options so that they appear on your transcript but do not cost you additional tuition.
  • Pay: rare, and usually only for faculty who have grants
  • Apply to be a part of the Undergraduate Research Scholars Program: This is a competitive project for students who have developed a research or creative project, with a defined scholarly question, method for answering the question, and product when done. You get additional mentoring through OSCAR, credit, and monetary support for your project.

 

OSCAR Contacts by College and School

The individuals listed here understand the importance of undergraduate research and creative activities and have volunteered to assist you in your search for a mentor. Request an appointment to find out about opportunities in their programs and be directed toward faculty who could become your mentor.


Please note: This list is regularly updated. Faculty and staff who would like to have their names and contact information added to this list should submit our OSCAR Contact Form.

College of Education and Human Development

Contact Program Email
Dr. David Wiggins, Co-Director Study of Sport & Leisure in Society/Prof, SRHT dwiggin1
Dr. Erin E. Peters, Associate Professor Science Education & Education Psychology epeters1
Dr. Nelson Cortes, Associate Professor School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism ncortes
Dr. Maggie Daniels, Associate Professor School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism mdaniels
Dr. Shawn Lee, Assistant Professor School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism slz
Additional Resources
Program Research Link
College of Education and Human Development Office of Research
Transformative Teaching Teacher Action Research
Academy for International Sport The Center for the Study of Sport and Leisure in Society
Special Education and Disability Research Kellar Institute
Counseling and Development Diversity, Research & Action Consortium
Sports Management Internships and Field Experience
School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism Research Centers
Health Promotion Internship and Field Experience
Kinesiology

College of Health and Human Services

Contact Program Email
Dr. Cathy Tompkins, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs Department of Social Work ctompkin
Dr. Carol Urban, Director of Nursing Undergraduate Division curban
Dr. Ali Weinstein, Associate Professor Department of Global and Community Health aweinst2
Dr. Frank Whittington, Associate Dean Academic Affairs fwhittin
Dr. Anna Pollack, Assistant Professor Department of Global and Community Health apollac2
Additional Resources
Program Department Links
CHHS
Global and Community Health Research Projects
Health Administration and Policy Research Areas
Health and Human Services Research
Rehabilitation Science Research
Diversity, Inclusion, Multicultural Education Research and Practice

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Undergraduate Advising

Contact Program Email
Dr. Joan Bristol, Associate Professor History and Art History jbristol
Dr. Andrew Bickford, Associate Professor and Anthropology Undergraduate Program Director Sociology and Anthropology abickfo1
Dr. Rachel Jones, Assistant Professor Philosophy rjones23
Dr. Mike Hurley, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Academic Advisor Psychology mhurley2
Lisa Breglia, Director Global Affairs lbreglia
Dr. Tom Rustici, Assistant Professor and Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs Economics trustici
Dr. Debra Lattanzi Shutika, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of English English and Folklore dshutika
Dr. Teesta Ghosh, Adjunct Professor International Politics, Law and Relations Theory tghosh
Emma Cruz, Administrative Coordinator Psychology ecruz4
Dr. Lisa Newmark, Director of Undergraduate Programs Criminology, Law, and Society lnewmark
Dr. Lisa Rabin, Associate Professor Modern and Classical Languages: Spanish lrabin
Dr. Esperanza Roman-Mendoza, Associate Professor and Associate Chair Modern and Classical Languages: Spanish eromanme
Laura Scott, Professor and Academic Coordinator English lscott
Dr. Douglas Eyman, Director, Ph.D in Writing and Rhetoric English deyman
Dr. Suzanne E. Smith, Professor History & Art History: Art History smisuze
Dr. Ricardo Vivancos-Pérez, Associate Professor and Spanish Program Coordinator Modern and Classical Languages: Spanish rvivanco
Dr. Star Muir, Associate Professor Communication smuir
Dr. Catherine Wright, Undergraduate Advising Coordinator Communication cwright5
David Miller, Student Video Center Director Communication dmillef
Dr. Jason Dunick, Undergraduate Director Economics jdunick

For additional undergraduate information in CHSS, see the list of Undergraduate Program Directors.

 
Additional Resources
Program Research Link
Communication Research Centers
Criminology, Law, and Society Research Centers
Economics Center for the Study of Public Choice
Computer Science UROP
Global Affairs Research

 

College of Science

Contact Program Email
Kim Rule, Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator Forensic Science kcarisi
Assad Khan, Director for Undergraduate Student Affairs College of Science akhanf
Dr. Flavia Colonna, Professor and Graduate Coordinator Mathematical Sciences fcolonna
Timothy Leslie, Associate Professor Geography & Geoinformation Science tleslie
Julia Nord, Term Associate Professor Atmospheric, Oceanic and Earth Sciences jnord
Chris Parsons, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator Environmental Science & Policy eparson1
Esther Peters, Associate Professor Environmental Science & Policy epeters2
Deborah Polayes, Term Associate Professor Biology Department dpolayes
Larry Rockwood, Professor and Chair Biology Department lrockwoo
Phil Rubin, Professor and Undergraduate Physics Advisor Physics and Astronomy prubin
Padmanabhan Seshaiyer, Professor Mathematical Sciences pseshaiy
John Schreifels, Chair and Associate Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry jschreif
Amy Adams, Scientific Outreach and Education Program Manager  Applied Proteomics & Molecular Medicine avanmete
Joe Weingartner, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Astronomy Advisor Physics and Astronomy jweinga1
Reid Schwebach, Coordinator COS Outreach & Recruitment, Term Assistant Professor Governor's School, Innovation Park jschweba
Sina Gallo, Assistant Professor, Nutrition and Food Studies Governor's School, Innovation Park jschweba
 
Additional Resources
Program
Research Links
College of Science Research Centers
School of Physics, Astronomy, and Computational Science
Biology
Environmental Science and Policy Research
Smithsonian School of Conservation: Kathleen Johnson, Director Research

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Undergraduate Advising

Contact Program Email
Clayton Austin, Associate Professor/Production Manager Theater caustin
Dr. Rachel Bergman, Associate Professor School of Music rbergman
Dr. Lynne Constantine, Associate Professor School of Art lconstan
Dr. Walter Kravitz, Professor and Gallery Director School of Art ekravitz
Dr. Howard Kurtz, Professor and Design Area Head Theater hkurtz
Brian Marcus, Associate Professor and Associate Dean College of Visual and Performing Arts; Arts Management bmarcus
Dr. Scott Martin, Research and Advance Assistant Dean Computer Game Design smartin4
Dr. Linda Miller, Professor College of Visual and Performing Arts lmille6  
Dr. Linda Monson, Managing Director, Keyboard Area Coordinator, Distinguished Service Professor School of Music lmonson
Kevin Murray, Program Manager Theater kmurra3
Dr. Elaine Rendler, Professor School of Music erendler
Dr. Jesse Guessford, Assistant Professor-Music Technology School of Music jguessfo 
Seth Hudson, Assistant Professor Computer Game Design shudson3
Greg Grimsby, Assistant Professor Computer Game Design ggrimsby
Additional Resources
Program Resource Link
College of Visual and Performing Arts  Undergraduate Studies Office
School of Dance  Resources
School of Theater Opportunities
Film and Video Studies

Honors College

Contact Program Email
Dr. Kathy Alligood, Associate Dean and Professor of Math Honors College alligood
Heather Anderson, Director of Academic Affairs and Advising Honors College handers4

Additional Resources
Program Research Link
Living Learning Community LLC

 SCHAR School of Policy and Government

Contact Program Email
Dr. Peter Balint, Professor Schar School of Policy and Government pbalint
Dr. Jennifer Nicoll Victor, Associate Professor Schar School of Policy and Government jvictor3
Dr. Ann Ludwick, Assistant Dean Schar School of Policy and Government aludwick
Matt Green, Assistant Director Schar School of Policy and Government mgreenb

School of Integrative Studies

Academic Advising

Contact Program Email
Dr. Lisa Gring-Pemble, Associate Professor, Dean New Century College lgringpe
Dr. Julie Owen, Associate Professor Leadership & Integrative Studies jowen4
Dr. Thomas Wood, Associate Professor New Century College twood
Dr. Duhita Mahatmya, Assistant Professor New Century College dmahatmy
Dr. Al Fuertes, Term Associate Professor New Century College afuertes
Dr. Pamela Garner, Professor New Century College pgarner1
Additional Resources
Program Research Link
Integrative Studies Internships
Environmental and Sustainability Studies Internships

School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Undergraduate Advising

Contact Program Email
Dr. Susan Hirsch, Professor School for Conflict Analysis & Resolution shirsch4
Dr. Agnieszka Paczynska, Associate Professor/Undergraduate Program Director School for Conflict Analysis & Resolution apaczyns
Dr. Mara Schoeny, Associate Professor and Graduate Certificate Program Director School for Conflict Analysis & Resolution mschoeny
Additional Resources
Program Research Links
School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution
  • Publishing & Presenting
S-CAR Internships
Field Experience Opportunities

School of Business

Undergraduate Advising

Contact Program Email
Dr. Matt Cronin, Associate Professor Management mcronin
Dr. Anne Magro, Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs School of Business amagro
Dr. Kevin Rockmann, Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Graduate Programs School of Business krockman
Dr. Mandy O'Neill, Assistant Professor Management ooneill
 

Volgenau School of Engineering

Undergraduate Advising

Contact Program Email
Dr. Sharon Caraballo, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs Volgenau School of Engineering scarabal
Dr. Ioulia Rytikova, Associate Professor Sciences and Technology irytikov
Dr. Joe Pancrazio, Chair and Professor Bioengineering jpancraz
Dr. Liza Durant, Associate Professor and Chair Civil, Environmental & Infrastructure Engineering ldurant2
Dr. Huzefa Rangwala, Assistant Professor

Computer Science

hrangwal

Dr. Brian Mark, Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering bmark
Dr. Nathalia Peixoto, Associate Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering npeixoto
Dr. Colin Reagle, Assistant Professor Mechanical Engineering creagle
Additional Resources
Program Research Links
Applied Information Technology Research
Bioengineering Undergrad Research
Civil, Environmental, and Infrastructure Engineering Research News
Computer Science
Electrical and Computer Engineering Research
Systems Engineering and Operations Research Research

Krasnow Institute for Advanced Study

Contact Program Email
Dr. Nadine Kabbani, Assistant Professor Molecular Neuroscience nkabbani
Theodore C. Dumas, Associate Professor Molecular Neuroscience tdumas

Fenwick Library

Undergraduate Resources

Contact Program Email
Diane Smith, Associate University Librarian Research and Educational Services dsmith36